Biryani Under Scrutiny

Now a days Chicken Biryani is a very famous dish all over India. There is Pakistani Biryani, Lucknow Biryani, Hyderabadi Dum Biryani, Sindhi Biryani, Mughalai Biryani, Chettinad Biryani, Malabar Biryani, and so on. But my favorite is my mom-made, homemade, deliciously made, “*mun paanai” made biryani. * Mun paanai – a clay pot. But since few months it has been cast iron biryani. It is just like a normal, simple biryani but altered to our preferred taste. Here are my comments on my mom’s famous homemade dish: Chicken Biryani Our Style!!

 

20170107_114405 (2).jpeg

(That makes my mouth water though I’m only able to spy it on my monitor/screen.)

Spice: The spice level is the main in this dish. And I think it had a nice mild flavor that gave a nice feel after you ate a piece. The spices in the chicken biryani is black pepper, green chili, and red chili.

Taste: The taste was out of the world! Especially the chicken because it was marinated over night. It was nice with the boiled eggs and *raita. *Raita- a mix of onion, yogurt, salt, and sometimes sumac.

Visual Presentation: TGIS! I could eat all I needed. I didn’t even care about the look due to the aroma drifting all the way into my bedroom dragging me down the bed and straight to the plate to eat.

NEW! Raw/Overcooked/Perfect: It was perfect. The egg was nice and soft like a puppies fur. The chicken wasn’t raw or rubbery at all! The inside was nice and tan colored too.

Overall: It was the best lunch that I had ever had in weeks! Though my mom forgot the mint to top it off.

20170107_114426 (1).jpeg

This is the raita that my dad made. Not all raitas over the world may look like this because some people may put black pepper powder, green chili, cumin powder and other things as per their desire.

 

20170107_114326 (1).jpeg

This is another simple side dish that people eat with the biryani. It is a spicy gravy with eggplant, onion, and also coriander leaves with a mix of spices.

I hope you enjoyed today’s lunch entry!

 

Leave a Reply

